Law takes effect September1, 2012
Contact: Rich Parsons or Alicia Pierce
AUSTIN, TX – Texas Secretary of State Hope Andrade reminds Texans that the law affecting state trademarks changes on September 1, 2012.
“Trademarks are an important tool for many businesses and entrepreneurs, and my office stands ready to help Texans address any issues or concerns related to these changes,” said Secretary Andrade. “We are ready to go with revised rules and updated application materials.”
Trademark filings made on or after September 1 will be affected by the changes. These changes include:
- Term of registration reduced from 10 years to 5 years;
- Additional filing requirements, including notarization of applications;
- Review for potential conflicts expanded to include registrations with the United States Patent Trademark Office.
Applicants planning to submit applications on or after September 1 must use the updated forms. Applicants with specific questions about their trademark are encouraged to consult legal counsel.
More information, including a link to the adopted rules, is available on the Secretary of State’s website under the business filings tab. Additional questions may be directed to the Secretary of State’s Corporations Section at (512) 463-5555.
The changes in trademark laws and rules comply with HB 3141 passed by the Texas Legislature in 2011.